Grilled Salmon with Mushrooms and Shallot Sauce

Facts of life: I love salmon.  I love mushrooms.  And I love shallots.  So when I saw a recipe that included salmon AND mushrooms AND shallots I pretty much passed out from anticipation.

In fact, I was so excited that I neglected to read the recipe.   You think I’m kidding?  I’m completely serious.   But I’m going to blame this on the fact that I was craving mushroom stroganoff.

A few weeks ago Tonks and I made mushroom stroganoff AND goulash despite the fact that it’s illogical to make TWO main courses for the same meal.  So we compromised and split the angel hair in two so we each had a plate of pasta with goulash AND a plate of pasta with mushroom stroganoff.

This stroganoff was light and savory and I’d been craving it ever since.  So my eyes glazed right over the part of the recipe where it said vinaigrette, and decided that the sauce must be cooked.

Conceptually, I can agree that the combination of cold and hot in food may be appealing and engaging in a dish.  But I really wasn’t feeling it.  I just wanted traditional sauce with my salmon.  So what was produced was a delicious mushroom and shallot sauce that was so tart it blew mine and Tonks’ brains out.  And then I reproduced the recipe again, and again, and again.

I also deviated from the recipe in how I cooked the salmon.  Since we live in an apartment complex, most of the grills can be found by the pool and are first come first serve.  In case you missed, it this means that we have to go OUTSIDE to use the grills… and the temperature has been over 100°F EVERY DAY.  So we’ve been hiding inside with the air conditioning.  Fortunately, Tonks lent her Panini Grill for the salmon.  It sped up cooking times by 50% and decreased the fire hazards associated with grilling.  If you have a have a similar friend/housemate/associate with a Panini grill, I definitely recommend you become best buds with them.

Grilled Salmon with Mushrooms and Shallot Sauce
adapted from Bobby Flay

4 Shallots
8 oz Button Mushrooms
2 tbsp butter
1 tsp Thyme
Salt
Freshly Ground Pepper
4 tbsp Red Wine Vinegar
1/4 cup of White Wine
1/4 cup Whole Milk
4 Salmon Fillets
Vegetable Oil
Scallion

Rinse and peel the mushrooms.  Thinly slice the shallots and mushrooms.  Heat a large pan to medium and melt the butter.  Add the shallots and cook for 4-5 minutes until soft.  Then add the mushrooms and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes.  Season with salt, pepper and thyme then cook for another 2 minutes.  Pour in the vinegar and wine and allow pan to simmer.   When liquid has reduced by half, add milk if desired (I like it creamier, Tonks doesn’t).

While sauce is reducing season the salmon with oil, salt and pepper.  Grill the salmon on both sides until golden brown, about 3 minutes each side.   Meanwhile, cut a few thin slices from the green leaf of the scallion (this was supposed to be parsley, but we’d run out and creatively substituted instead).  When the salmon is done, serve it with the mushroom and shallot sauce and sprinkle scallion slices on top.

Leave a Reply

